Day 334

1. Reading a blog post that reminded me of this commercial.  (Note that the commercial is only suitable for more ‘mature’ audiences, and may offend some readers – so view at your own discretion.  Personally, I laughed out loud at min 0:19 and from 0:51 to the end.)

2. Experiencing many memories of moments from my youth.  From sitting in an old rocking recliner that my mom reupholstered while reading Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume books, to playing in a coat closet that had an awesome hidden alcove, to using a genuine card catalog via the Dewey Decimal System, today was a day where past experiences were brought to the present – if only for seconds at a time.

3. Spending the day with my brother-in-law touring a Minnesota Historical Site, and enjoying a surprisingly classy lunch afterwards.  (Details about the outing will be posted within the next few days here; look for item #38.)  I had a terrific time touring, dining, and talking with him.  🙂

Our meal.  I had the sauteed Brussels sprouts with garlic and crisp onion (and Västerbotten, whatever that is [Google tells me it's some sort of cheese...), a slice of butternut squash and cheese egg bake (it's not quiche - it's an egg bake) with a vinagrette tossed green salad and some delicious green smear that I have absolutely no idea what was in it, but would have licked the plate clean if that action was socially acceptable.  My BIL had roasted fingerling potatoes with sauteed greens, capers, anchovy, and cream sauce, an open-face sandwich of mushroom and orange spread, with some type of Scandinavian white creamy cheese, pickled pear, and frisée, and a cup of  green tea.  I can appreciate that this food may sound unappealing, but it was really quite delicious!

Our meal. I had the sauteed Brussels sprouts with garlic and crisp onion (and Västerbotten, whatever that is [Google tells me it’s some sort of cheese…]), and a slice of butternut squash and cheese egg bake (it’s not quiche – it’s egg bake) topped with some delicious green smear (I have absolutely no idea what was in the green smear, but I would have licked it from the plate if that action was socially acceptable) and a green salad tossed in vinaigrette. My BIL had roasted fingerling potatoes with sauteed greens, capers, anchovy, and cream sauce, an open-face sandwich of mushroom and orange spread, some type of Scandinavian white creamy cheese, pickled pear, and frisée, and a cup of green tea. I can appreciate that this food may sound unappealing, but it was really quite delicious!

For dessert, we shared a vanilla bean cheesecake that sat on a gingerbread cracker crust, and came topped with candied ginger and a side of citrus.  It was also phenomenal.

For dessert, we shared a vanilla bean cheesecake that sat on a gingerbread cracker crust, and came topped with candied ginger and a side of citrus. It was also phenomenal.

Stef

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)