Day 774

1. Attending a craft fair with a friend.  I love that I have people in my life who enjoy exploring new experiences with me – and I feel good supporting local artisans/small business owners.  And I scored some good deals, too!

One of my purchases: two bars of organic, vegan, hand-crafted soap – and priced less than what I would have paid for it in any store!

 

Another purchase: Tuscan salt.  My friend thought it was humorous that this vendor made vegetarian products, but told us about all of the ways her wares could be shaken and slathered over any animal a person could think of.  She specifically listed off pork, chicken, beef, duck, deer, eggs… My friend tried to help her out by commenting, "I be this would be great on vegetables, too.  Or a nice baked potato…" - to which the vendor replied, "Or over a nicely marinated roast!"  Oy.

Another purchase: Tuscan salt. My friend thought it was interesting/humorous that this vendor made vegetarian products, but insisted on telling us about all of the ways her wares could be shaken and slathered over any animal a person could think of. The vendor specifically listed off pork, chicken, beef, duck, deer, eggs; and when my friend tried to clue her in to our palate preferences by commenting, “I be this salt would be great on vegetables, or a nice baked potato,” the vendor replied, “Or over a nicely marinated rib roast!” Oy.

An unexpected gift fro my friend: homemade granola!  (Crafted by her and her two young boys.)  How kind!  And delicious.  :)

An unexpected gift from my friend: homemade granola! Crafted by her and her two young boys – how kind! And delicious. 🙂

2.  Receiving a bit of education from the soap vendor (mentioned above).  He was a chatty guy; not only did I learn a fun fact about cocoa oil (it is creamy beige in color, and only turns brown when it comes in contact with air and oxidizes [which is why every chocolate-covered candy bar has the same color on the outside]), but I learned a lot about him personally (he was a teacher in LA in the 1980s [1st-3rd grades, teaching an average of 45 kids at one time]; he lived in Burbank during that time [where his rent was $1800/month; he had to wait tables in addition to teaching full-time just to make ends meet]; he taught in Compton [and received $1100 every 6 months in ‘combat pay’]; he has been in Minnesota for over 20 years; he started his soap business on a dare; he had reconstructive surgery on his foot earlier this year and was house-bound for 4 months…)  He possessed a lot of words that he wanted to share.  🙂

3. Seeing many examples of genius design.  I am completely in awe of artisans who combine form with function to create something that exceeds both.

Stef

2 thoughts on “Day 774

  1. Ruth

    My friend and I went to a craft fair in Fox Chapel today. Tis the season. There were lovely handmade soaps but no conversation. That granola looks tasty, Stef!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Stef Post author

      Tis the season indeed. (Though spring also seems to be a big crafting time as well around these parts.) My friend’s kids did a bang-up job on the granola; I have been enjoying it!

      Like

      Reply

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

