Day 733

1. A friend sending me a text full of good cheer early this morning, in the hopes that my crummy day from yesterday would not be repeated.  What a thoughtful action!  She definitely got my day off to a great start.  (And I’m happy to report that yesterday’s mini-dramas failed to carry over into today – hooray!)

2. Upon seeing my post from a few days ago about my upcoming travel preparations, one of my readers sent me advice on things to see and do in Japan – as she currently works there.  I absolutely adore how technology is enabling connections that would have been unthinkable just a few years ago.  Many thanks to WordPress for democratizing the process of sharing information (as well as supporting creative endeavors of all sorts), buckets-full of thanks to everyone who has read/currently reads my blog(s), and truck-loads full of thanks to all who have shared a kind/encouraging word or a great nugget of information.  It’s tremendous.  The whole darn thing is just tremendous.  

3. At lunch today, two Caucasian brothers (ages 11 and 6) sat down at a table with the older brother’s Korean American friend (also 11 years old).  Each boy set down a dish of Chinese food.  The two Caucasian boys unwrapped plastic forks, whereas the Korean American child opted to use chopsticks.  Upon seeing the Korean-American child’s utensil of choice, the younger Caucasian brother cried out, “You’re using Chinese sticks?!”  What the younger boy meant was that he was very impressed with the older boy’s ability to eat a meal with sticks instead of a fork; but what my mind immediately heard was more along the lines of, “Wait – a Korean kid is allowed to use Chinese stuff?!”  It cracked me up.  (As an aside, the older Caucasian brother looked mortified, whereas the Korean American kid smiled and said, “Actually, they’re called chopsticks – and yes, I know how to eat with them.”  A very graceful response.)

chopsticks1

The tag line for this product is, "For People Who Can't Use Chopsticks Very Well."  (Really!)

The tag line for this product is, “For People Who Can’t Use Chopsticks Very Well.” (Seriously!)

Poor Maggie struggles to master her chopsticks -- it seems nearly everyone around the dinner table has something to say about the "right" way to hold them! But Father reminds her not to worry about everyone else, and find her own way. (Aww….)

Poor Maggie struggles to master her chopsticks — it seems nearly everyone around the dinner table has something to say about the “right” way to hold them! But Father reminds her not to worry about everyone else, and find her own way. (Aww….)

I think this is the way one of my friends might use her chopsticks.  :)

I think this is the way one of my friends might use her chopsticks. 🙂

Stef

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

