Day 717

1. Unexpectedly seeing one of my good friends at the salon today!  She works on Fridays, but took the day off to pamper herself – and was just leaving the stylist’s chair as I was arriving to occupy it.  Kooky!  (And very cool.)

2. Having my hair cut by a very personable stylist.  Today was our “first date” (her words), and she took care to listen to me, then explain what she envisioned, then encourage me throughout the cut and style that I absolutely can recreate the look at home she so skillfully crafted in the salon.  (“Just relax and don’t try to make your hair perfect.  See how casually I dried and curled it?  I made it look very easy, because it is.  You should spend time enjoying your life, not doing your hair!”)  This is my kind of woman.  🙂

3. At the end of the appointment when I pulled out my wallet to pay for my service, the stylist informed me that the salon accepts cash or check.  All I had in my purse was a credit card.  (Plus $10 in emergency cash – but that wasn’t going to cover the bill.)  Oops.  I sheepishly looked at the stylist, but before I could say anything, she pulled a blank envelope out of a drawer and addressed it to herself.  She handed it to me, and simply said, “Just mail me a check when you get a chance this weekend.  It’s no big deal.”  A business woman who takes IOUs?? That action sealed the deal for me.  Incredible.

This image of the interior of the salon doesn't do the space (or the experience) justice; it felt very homey and comfortable.  Good stuff all around.

This image of the interior of the salon doesn’t do the space (or the experience) justice; it felt very homey and comfortable. Good stuff all around.

Stef

4 thoughts on “Day 717

  1. Ruth

    Almost no place around here takes checks anymore. What a wonderful feeling.
    Sounds as if there will definitely be a “second date” but where is the photo of you? 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Stef Post author

      I think a second date is in our future. 🙂 I need to play with the new cut for a few days before I share a photo of myself. (I have to learn how I like to style it.)

      Like

      Reply

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

