Day 646

1. Receiving an interesting email from a colleague: a picture of a monkey selfie.  Literally.

monkey selfie

2. Learning the backstory of the image: “British nature photographer David Slater was in Indonesia in 2011 attempting to get the perfect image of a crested black macaque when one of the animals came up to investigate his equipment, hijacked a camera and took hundreds of selfies.”  The various imagined antics that immediately popped into my mind made me smile – I can just see that monkey posing with all of his family and friends, filling up the nature photographer’s camera space….

3. The reply one of my other colleagues shared with us when she learned that this monkey had taken a selfie: “I can’t believe this monkey knows how to take a selfie and my mother can’t figure out how to send a text message.”  Ha!  I laughed out loud.  Awesome.

Stef

P.S. Another one of my colleagues shared this follow-up information about copyrights and animal selfies.  Just in case you’re curious.  (Or in case you want to see more fun monkey pics.)  🙂

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

