Day 571

1. Arriving at the service desk of our local Target store just as a team member was handing various supplies to a local food bank volunteer.  In addition to the expected dented cans and smushed boxes of various shelf-stable foodstuffs, the volunteer received a huge pack of toilet paper and two full cases of diapers – to which he smiled and said, “There are going to be a lot of happy babies – and parents! – this week.”  I had no idea that our local Target donated supplies directly to a local community resource; seeing this exchange warmed my heart.  

2. The way one of our neighbors says hello to me whenever I walk past his house.  While he doesn’t know me at all (apart from being able to recognize my face, and knowing that my home is a few steps down the road from his), whenever he sees me, he greets me with the most authentic, “Hello!  How are you?!” that makes me feel like he truly cares about me and is genuinely happy to see me. While intellectually I understand that this can’t possibly be the case (as, again, he doesn’t know me), emotionally I still feel great every time I receive one of his gregarious salutations.  

3. Having a picnic lunch on a gorgeous spring day with an equally lovely friend.  Good food + good view + good conversation+ spending time with a person I genuinely enjoy = a great way to spend an afternoon!

My picnic view.

My picnic view.

Stef

4 thoughts on “Day 571

    1. Stef Post author

      The view was terrific. 🙂 And yes, I love it when big retailers put their big dollars and power behind positive, helpful causes.

      Like

      Reply

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

