Day 569

1. As I parked my car in a public lot, I saw a woman two spaces away from me pour water out of what looked like a small ramekin.  She caught my puzzled look – but just then, a small muppet of a dog popped its head up.  The woman looked back at me a bit sheepishly, then said through her open window, “He’s picky, you know…”  nodding towards her small pooch.  I smiled at her, nodded my head, and said, “If my boys enjoyed riding in the car, I would do the very same thing.”  No need to apologize puppy mama; I get you.  🙂

2. Seeing a mother in a grocery store flex her parenting style on a dime as the emotions and needs of her small child changed.  The mom went from appropriately disciplining her little girl, to scooping her up and cuddling her just a few seconds later (again, appropriately).  Parenting is a tough gig; big props to all of the women and men who do it well.

3. Hearing a beautiful message while listening to a podcast: “Just as species diversity is essential to keep the planet in place, so there’s a need for a diversity of love to sustain the ecosphere of kindness – and that anyone who rejected any bit of the love in the world was acting in a foolish way.”  ~Andrew Solomon, excerpted from his talk “My Post Nuclear Family”, as told to The Moth

Love isn't complicated

Stef

Want to join me? Feel free to share any of your daily delights below. (Other comments also accepted.) :)

